“Whitehorse’s ‘Grouse Grind'”: Fish Lake

I like being alone, a lot. It’s just like this says. And it’s a pain, when it comes to outdoorsiness.

I got lucky, however. I had failed to understand that, when Christina asked for a “sweet treat” from Vancouver, she did not mean chocolates from Granville Island, but rather an eligible, desirable male, aged 25-45… yet she was STILL willing to take my sorry self on a hike this weekend: Yay! Fish Lake!!

It’s about 10 minutes’ drive from the centre of Whitehorse, and the views are still pretty great. I really, really liked this one! And one of the best parts was that we ran into some other hikers on the way up—a man with a great big backpack and a tiny little girl: she couldn’t be more than 3, and probably closer to 2, years old. She was dressed head to toe in pink, and maintaining a steady chatter about anything and everything while she hiked. Smart. Anti-bear. And adorable. 🙂

Beyond that I have only one thing to say: oh holy mother of god, the bugs. The mosquitos were bad and also depraved: I only got bitten on the palms of my hands, insides of my wrist, and my *ears*. Worse, however, were the weird black ones: they didn’t *seem* to be biting, but they were so thick I had to do the “human windshield wipers” with my arms, and, if you look at bigger versions of my pics… you’ll see them EVERYWHERE. Ick.

I’m told “it’s a season”. I asked when the season ends… and was told “oh, end of August?” So I guess the “season” is “summer”… but others have said “early August”, and please god let it be that—I’ve got to break out the anti-mosquito clothes now, and no one likes to be *that* guy.

DSC_0890Fish Lake!

DSC_0895BUGS!!!

DSC_0896Some other lake!

DSC_0897Again!

DSC_0899Yep: still got snow.

And that’s Fish Lake: low drama, high accessibility, and *gorgeous*, minus the bug life.

In exciting news, this coming weekend is the Atlin Music Festival! I’m volunteering which means I get free tickets, but really—I’m just in it to go to Atlin. I love BC. Also coming up soon is Alaska! There’s some talk of the Chilkoot Trail, which would probably blow my mind with the historical awesomeness of it all… we shall see.

One response to ““Whitehorse’s ‘Grouse Grind'”: Fish Lake

  1. I love to read how enthusiastic you are about hiking and visiting all places! Being up there seems to be good for you. 🙂

    Like you, I’m introvert and need my alone time. It usually strains me very easily to be around people and have all this talking going on. (Peter is an exception because he’s very much like me. We’re both surprised that we get along so well living together.)

    Recently I had two of my closest friends over for a visit, and although I like them very much, I was pretty exhausted afterwards. They’re both nomads who like to travel a lot and live in different countries, and what they particularly appreciate about that is that they get to know and talk to new people all the time. Quite the horror idea for me! 😀 I’m quite the opposite, I need a homebase and don’t deal well with too much going on around me.

Leave a comment